Chart of the week: World-wide weed


I mentioned earlier last week that in Colorado, you can still get in trouble for using marijuana. That got me thinking – what is the penalty (if any) for using weed in other places?

I found the answer in the form of this map from libertysnippet.com, which advocates for the legalization of cannabis. Obviously, the site is biased, but I was able to cross reference their map with some other sources and it paints an accurate picture (click to enlarge).

World-cannabis-laws

Red vs. blue (click on the image to enlarge).

One thing I didn’t expect to see was the amount of light blue in the US. Several states (11) have already decriminalized cannabis, which means that you can’t get more than a ticket for having it. A lot of activists are pushing to make that a federal law, and they point to countries like Portugal as examples of places where¬†decriminalization has actually led to less drug usage.

Did you see anything on the map that surprised you? Leave a message in the comments.

You should follow us on twitter @DYNAMO_politics!

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Social Policy
3 comments on “Chart of the week: World-wide weed
  1. Thanks DYNAMO. Real good picture of the status of Marijuana around our world. Very interesting.

    Addie

    • Thanks for the response. I always like to provide people with unbiased and accurate information on hot-button topics like legalization so they can make their own decisions based on solid evidence. I hope this helped you to do exactly that!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow DYNAMO and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

About the Author
DYNAMOpolitics

DYNAMOpolitics

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

View Full Profile →

