Rubio camp capitalizing on “water-gate” with water bottles


One of the best things you can do in an awkward situation is laugh at yourself. Marco Rubio and company are doing just that – and hoping to make a little cash along the way.

You’ve probably witnessed the “gulp heard round the world” by now – a parched Rubio quenching his thirst on live national television while delivering the Republican response to Obama’s State of the Union address. Unfortunately for Marco, the awkward reach and grab for the water bottle overshadowed just about everything he said. Watch for yourself:

The national media, of course, made a big deal out of what they’re now calling “water-gate” (really…). Personally I blame this more on the increasingly tabloid nature of news programs than any “liberal bias,” but you’re free to draw your own conclusions.

Rubio, for his part, has done his best to laugh the situation off. He made the rounds on TV talk shows last week, cracking jokes and twist-off caps to show he’s unfazed. And though I thought this idea was kind of gimmicky when I saw it on his Facebook page last night, it’s grown on me:

Marcobottle

The Rubio-themed bottles cost $25, according to the official website run by his SuperPAC. But is the money going to a Rubio 2016 effort? That’s what we’re all thirsting to find out!

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Miscellaneous
12 comments on “Rubio camp capitalizing on “water-gate” with water bottles
  1. Lucy says:

    I hope he runs! Media really blew this out of proportion .

  2. I enjoyed this post. As a LIBERAL follower, I have to tell you that I thought the media reaction to Sen. Rubio drinking water was so over the top it was ridiculous. This young man was making an important rebuttal to the SOTU. I hope many people ignored the water nonsense and paid attention to what he said. I may not agree with him, but he shouldn’t be made fun of in order to blunt his message.

    • Hey a liberal follower! I’m not trying to show favoritism or anything but liberal followers are my favorite because talking conservative policies to a liberal audience is where all the fun really lies.

      To address your comment I’d like to say it’s refreshing to hear that take from someone on the other side of the aisle. You probably want people to listen because you think he’s saying things you disagree with, and I want people to listen because he’s saying things I agree with, but we both want people to analyze the real issues and I’m really glad we can both agree on that!

  3. Good for him. Rebutting the state of the union is a tough gig, and Obama delivers a good speech (style wise). Turning this to his advantage with some good fun is a smart play.

  4. I was sick all week and only saw the commentary and the clip. I wanted to write about this but wasn’t up to it. This whole story is absolutely ridiculous. I can’t believe TV stations thought this was actual news.

    I love what he has done with it though. I think he will definitely run for office.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow DYNAMO and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

About the Author
DYNAMOpolitics

DYNAMOpolitics

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

View Full Profile →

