Chris Christie destroys John Boehner, GOP on delayed Sandy relief


A livid Chris Christie let the world know how angry he was at the House’s refusal to vote on an aid package for his devastated state last night in a live press conference as cameras rolled. He named names – John Boehner, Speaker of the House, was chief among them.

Boehner, a Republican like Christie, simply refused to have the House of Representatives vote on legislation to give federal funds to help rebuild severely damaged sections of New York and New Jersey. The aftereffects of Hurricane Sandy are still being felt in those states as their governors try to lead reconstruction efforts. Such efforts, however, depend on federal dollars working with state dollars to repair roads, bridges, and infrastructure.

Until last night, Governor Christie thought he would get those dollars. After all, it’s been standard practice to get something from the federal government within about 10 days of a natural disaster, especially one with the size and scope of Hurricane Sandy, which took place almost 65 days ago.

But then Speaker Boehner pulled the rug out from under him. Says Christie:

“I was called at 11:20 last night by Leader Cantor and told that authority for the vote had been pulled by the speaker. Our delegation asked for a meeting with the speaker at that time. They were refused. I called the speaker four times last night after 11:20 and he did not take my calls.

Every day that we don’t get this aid are days that we can’t help people get back in their homes, get businesses reopened, get our economy really moving in our state again. It’s absolutely disgraceful. This used to be something that was not political. Disaster relief was something that you didn’t play games with.”

But it gets uglier:

“I’m not going to get into the specifics of what I discussed with John Boehner today but what I will tell you is there is no reason at the moment for me to believe anything they tell me. Because they have been telling me stuff for weeks, and they didn’t deliver.”

Christie hits the nail right on the head. It’s been 24 hours and the nation still has no explanation from John Boehner or his staff on why they pulled the bill off the House floor last nigth. Was it political retribution for some perceived slight from the states of New York and New Jersey? Is Boehner simply incompetent? Is he worried about losing his speakership?

Who cares? There’s a bigger story here. John Boehner – a Republican – isn’t doing his job, and Chris Christie – a Republican – called him out. That may confuse those who just cowardly tow the party line because both the hero and the villain are from the same party. Allow me to break it down for prevaricators like The Independent Journal Review’s Kevin Danielsen, who, judging by this vague and journalistically worthless quote, is clearly afraid of saying anything his readers might disagree with:

Should he [Christie] be blaming Republicans? Tough question, and there is no specific answer no matter what you believe.

Kevin, you’re wrong. There is a specific answer: this is absolutely fantastic. Christie standing up to Boehner means someone in this party is at least trying to be a leader. Leaders praise good performance but reprimand mistakes like Boehner’s tabling of the bill.

Suggesting otherwise, that we ought to shield someone from criticism because they’re in our party… well, let’s leave that to the Democrats.

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in The Modern Conservative
16 comments on “Chris Christie destroys John Boehner, GOP on delayed Sandy relief
  1. Completely agree with you. I never understood the flack Christie got by praising the president. He always says it like it is. That isn’t the reason Romney didn’t win.

    I love when someone calls out their own party. Shows they are a leader and not a follower.

    • Glad to hear it. I’m getting my head ripped off over at the constitution club for a similar post (http://constitutionclub.org/2013/01/03/its-time-to-tell-rino-chris-christie-to-stuff-it/) – maybe a sign that we’re right!

      • For whatever reason, I wasn’t able to view it yesterday. Just saw the post. Agree with you. Calling Gov. Christie a RINO is beyond ridiculous.

        It’s more than a sign. I know we are right! lol

        In all seriousness, WE are the future of the Republican Party. If the party doesn’t get it’s shit (lack of a better word at the moment) together soon then they will be screwed for a long time in terms of elections and so forth.

      • Agreed full and through. I’m still struggling with how we get from where we are to where we want to be. Honestly I haven’t a clue – I mean, blogging only moves a party so far!

      • Completely agree. That’s why I’ve contemplated running for Congress myself. Maybe that’s the next step.

        Still contemplating it.

        I just recently started following your blog. But I think you and I share many of the same ideas and thoughts on subjects. If only GOP members would read them! They could learn a thing or two from us 🙂

      • Haha I know, I know! But of course it’s easier to criticize from the sidelines then to be “the man in the arena.”

        What state have you thought about running for? I’d be willing to volunteer if it’s not too far away!

      • The problem with many of our Congressmen and Senators is that they remain on the sidelines. Too many followers and not enough leaders.

        I live in Illinois. So I am automatically at a disadvantage lol

        I don’t even know where to start.

      • I’m right next door in Indiana haha. I don’t either. Maybe we need to start organizing “rational Republicans” into a cohesive group?

      • Seems like a good idea.

        At least you guys have a Republican governor. Somehow “we” elected a vastly incompetent person.

        I don’t think many politicians would like me though. I’d actually want to work. lol

      • Hopefully I’ll be working for Gov. Pence him sometime this summer as an intern.

        Yeah, you might make them look bad!

        I think I need to make a list of all the reasonable blogs I can find on here and see if there’s anyway to harness that. It’s a start.

      • Good luck that sounds like it would be cool.

        I plan on making them look bad. lol

        Let me know of the list. I’m always looking for good blogs to follow.

  2. Bret Rickert says:

    Living in New Jersey, I can tell most of us Republicans are furious with Christie. We saw this for the grandstanding it was and have grown sick of his BS and his worship of Bruce Springsteen. The fact is Sandy victims are not hurting for finance http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/336755/can-we-relax-about-sandy-relief-second-daniel-foster#
    Having worked for Christie in 2009, I won’t be this year.

    • Oh, you worked with him in 2009? That’s pretty cool. I’m going to apply for a political position soon and I’d like to hear more about what you did as a staffer!

      My understanding is that some of the relief money is going to the state of New Jersey and some of it is going to its citizens? In that case, Christie’s asking for some of his own money too.

      Christie’s a politician, so of course he’d take advantage of an opportunity to look good. But part of the reason I take his side is the total lack of communication and mismanagement I saw from Boehner over the last few months. The guy deserves to sit in hot water for some time until he gets his act together.

      • Bret Rickert says:

        I was part of the effort to win his opponent’s, Jon Corzine, home city of Hoboken, which happens to be mine too. While we still lost, we did gain him the most votes a Republican has gotten in this area in 30 years. He won’t be getting that support this time around. If Cory Booker chooses to run, he will beat him, but it looks like he is going for the Senate. I agree Boehner has been less than stellar, but Chrisitie crossed a line. Leadership is not attacking your own just for political gain. He tried to take advantage of the unpopularity of the Republican House, with nothing more than a cheap shot, and a willing press that loves to fan the flames of discord between Republicans. It was explained to him by Eric Cantor why the bill was not taken up and he still acted like a horses… you know what.

      • You think Booker will win? I’ve heard the opposite consensus from some in the national media. Apparently Christie hit his $2M funding goal already.

        What did you actually have to do? Make posters, take phone calls, etc? I’m just curious to know what I’m getting into!

        It seems we have a fundamental disagreement on why Christie got angry with Boehner. It may have been grandstanding, but Peter King from NY was doing damage already. Christie didn’t get what he thought was coming – I can understand why he’s mad.

      • Bret Rickert says:

        Those tasks are pretty much what we all start out doing, look for a means to show off your writing skills. Way back in 92’ I managed to get noticed by writing editorials for the Bush Campaign, of course that didn’t turn out too well. I was never a fan of making phone calls but I love doing the door to door routine of course you have to start with those phone calls.
        As for Christie, he just wants that money to help cover his $705 million budget shortfall. What the national media is not telling you:http://www.northjersey.com/news/Spectacular_revenue_growth_needed_to_keep_Christies_budget_balanced_analyst_says.html?page=all
        Trust me, many in this state are laughing at the man and many of us are disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow DYNAMO and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

About the Author
DYNAMOpolitics

DYNAMOpolitics

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

View Full Profile →

