Post-election post-mortem: what’s wrong with the GOP?


Mitt Romney’s severe electoral defeat Tuesday night offered the clearest and most public illustration to date of the myriad of problems that plague my party. While most of the cries of my fellow reformers have gone straight to the GOP’s voicemail, in the aftermath of yet another disappointing presidential cycle I see a clear opportunity to put our call on speakerphone.  

Romney blamed no one for his defeat in his concession speech Wednesday morning. But while he may have been satisfied by simply “giving it his all,” if Romney was looking to hold someone responsible for his loss he could have very well started with his own campaign.

The big difference-maker this cycle was supposed to be SuperPAC money – unlimited sums from anyone who wanted to chip in, usually for the Republican side. Yet for all the millions he and his allies raked in, Mitt was simply unable to make the cash count.

As I’ve said in the past, Romney’s entire PR operation was amateurish and grossly inefficient. Mitt, even with his Harvard business school credentials, is not immune to the laws of campaign management – which require you to use dedicated PR firms and not random campaign employees to craft your message for you.

But while part of the blame does rest with some very questionable campaign decisions by a group of people who will never be trusted with a national race again, there’s a much heavier gorilla in the room.

It is an undeniable fact that my party has come to be dominated by members of what David Frum  has termed the “right wing entertainment complex.” From his interview on Morning Joe:

“The real problem is with the Republican activist base and the Republican donor base. I won’t forget the lupine smile that played over the head of one major conservative institution when [a fundraiser] told me that our donors think that the apocalypse has arrived. Republicans have been fleeced and exploited and lied to by a conservative entertainment complex.”

The other night I had a discussion with my roommate about the importance of self-analysis. We both agreed that if you’re not constantly evaluating yourself, you can’t make solid decisions about your future.

For too long, the Republican Party has avoided this kind of self-analysis, out of a sense of either paranoia or delusion. Allow me then to lay to truth bare:

  • If this party fails to get the Tea Party movement under control, we will be locked out of a senate majority again and again. This cycle is the second in the last two years in which Tea Party candidates have lost us seats.
  • The GOP is missing huge opportunities with young voters and Hispanics. The debt (which my generation will pay) would be a great wedge issue for 18-29 year olds, and there’s no reason hard-working, family-oriented Hispanics shouldn’t fit under our tent.
  • The tone of the GOP is dictated almost exclusively by talk radio and Fox news personalities. It’s hard to describe in words how much persuadable voters inwardly ridicule these people.
  • Our messaging on social issues makes us sound like cavemen. Do you oppose abortion? Of course you do. But don’t try to say that rape is okay unless you want to tar the whole party.

Talks of a GOP civil war are now circulating just like they were after the blowout of 2008. During these last few years, while the problems I just pointed out festered under a kitchen-sink opposition to President Obama, party leaders like RNC chair Rience Priebus twiddled their thumbs. I pointed out early in the nomination fight that we had to choose a sane candidate, and while some of the most influential voices in the party have pursued birth certificates, blamed hurricanes, and droned about “legitimate rape,” I was writing about the need for a new direction for a movement that is still fixated on a president who was last elected in the 1980s.

For a large part, I and others like me (Like David Frum or Joe Scarborough) have been snowed under by an avalanche of Rushisms and Coulterisms. I’m tired of that.

I want my party back.

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in President Obama, The Modern Conservative
9 comments on “Post-election post-mortem: what’s wrong with the GOP?
  1. […] analysis ignores some key failures in his own campaign. In fact, he repeats one of them by dividing people into categories of “makers” and […]

  2. cosmoscon says:

    Fortunately, I feel there are others in the GOP who feel this way too. We must be that voice in our party over the coming years to force the GOP to stick to Fiscal/Economic issues that can resonate with all the American people. The social issues are killing us and most young conservatives like you and middle aged ones like me have been calling for immigration reform, supporting a state’s right to legalize same sex marriages and abandoning this rape/abortion talk. Let’s hope they listen.

    • I agree. I’ve been thinking a lot lately: what’s a good way to increase our party’s chances of adopting these changes, besides blogging, obviously? I’m curious to see if you have any thoughts.

  3. Colby Cline says:

    People thought the GOP was broken previous to the 1980’s election, but a good president can build great standing in a political party and with our country. Let’s just try to keep through these next four years with some sanity and we will see where it goes from there. In the meantime, I think it is just important that we do all we can to try and unite America and cut out all of this political division.

    • I would argue that the GOP was broken prior to the 1980’s election. If Jimmy Carter (one of our worst presidents ever) could beat a Republican candidate, we had problems. Of course, those problems we different back then – see Watergate.

  4. […] at retaking the Senate and White House go up in smoke. While much of that can be attributed to a slate of weak candidates and ham-fisted messaging, liberals also view the returns as a mandate on their style of budget control. For example, a CBS […]

  5. […] seems that when alternate reality meets the real world, the real world usually […]

  6. […] Republican party needs to perform a serious re-evaluation of its messaging to minority voters, that’s for sure. But it’s not fair to say it’s an intolerant place at all. […]

  7. […] find their footing on immigration. The GOP’s been woefully off the ball on immigration. I’ve been saying for months that the party needs to get together, come up with one cohesive plan on immigration reform, run on […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow DYNAMO and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

About the Author
DYNAMOpolitics

DYNAMOpolitics

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

View Full Profile →

