Ignore the Polls, the Redskins Pick the President!


If you’re following the election as close as I think a lot of you are, you’ve probably got the polling numbers for each state memorized. You don’t? Okay, maybe that’s just me. Actually, that’s probably a good thing, because if you believe in the so-called “Redskins Rule,” you already know who’s going to win Tuesday night.

Here’s how it works. Look at the score from the last Washington Redskins home game before the election. If the Redskins win, the party in power stays in power. If they lose, the challenger sleeps in the White House the coming January. The only outlier is the 2004 election, when Bush defeated Kerry despite a Redskins loss.

Still, a 94% (17/18) success rate since 1940 isn’t bad, which probably leaves everyone wondering who won today’s game at FedEx Field…

Despite analysts favoring Washington by a 3.5-point margin, the North Carolina Panthers dominated the game 21-13 (the box score looks more impressive). Looks like this one’s going to the challenger – ehem, Mitt Romney.

Republicans, rejoice! That is, if you believe in the Redskins Rule.

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in President Obama

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow DYNAMO and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

About the Author
DYNAMOpolitics

DYNAMOpolitics

I'm a young guy with a news addiction. I love engineering, politics, and economics, and I have a mind built for analysis. Also, I write a lot, though I hate the paperwork... You can read my work at www.dynamopolitics.com !

View Full Profile →

